PHP WEB SCRIPTS    Support Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

can't continue
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PHP Web Scripts Forum Index -> Support & Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Shining
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 5:47 pm    Post subject: can't continue Reply with quote

I've been trying to install easy banner and I can't seem to figure out what I am doing wrong. I keep getting this error:


Unable to create file "/dh/cgi-system/php.cgi/data/data.php"
Make sure that this directory exists and it has 777 permission.

Can't continue!


I'm not sure what I'm supposed to change in order for it to create the file. I used the path that was already specified and it said not to change it if you aren't sure what it should be. So, if it's incorrect what do I need to do?
Back to top
PHPWebScripts
Richard - Admin


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 6244

PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The path /dh/cgi-system/php.cgi has been received from the server but in this case it's apparently incorrect. You have to enter there real path to the uploaded files/scripts. I'm not able to help you by this forum as the path is server based. You can ask server admin for this info or I can find the path for you but will need FTP access to the server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, what exactly do I have to do to find the correct path? Everything I seem to try gives me the same error message. Also, I do have FTP access to my server. Very Happy
Back to top
PHPWebScripts
Richard - Admin


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 6244

PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your server admin don't want to help you, please send me your FTP data, I will find the path for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shining
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what is my FTP data? If that's my username and password, I'm not giving that out.
Back to top
PHPWebScripts
Richard - Admin


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 6244

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can ask your server admin for the full path. If he doesn't want to help you, I can find the path for you. To do it, I will need FTP access to the server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shining
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I figured it out and found the right path, but I still have one more question.

I don't understand the explanation of the exchange ratio. I'd like it to be set up for 1:1 ratio.

Does that mean I just put 1 in the box, or do I put 100 because it says:

"How many impressions get every user for showing 100 banners"
Back to top
PHPWebScripts
Richard - Admin


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 6244

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, if you want the ratio to be 1:1, enter 100.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shining
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you so much for your help. I have one more question Smile

In a lot of the banner exchanges I am in, the code I put on my page displays a tiny little banner that says the name of the rotation.

How am I able to put that into the html for my banner rotation so that when people sign up, the code automatically contains a little banner like that?

Thank you again for your help Smile
Back to top
PHPWebScripts
Richard - Admin


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 6244

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This option is available only in Easy Banner Pro, sorry. In Easy Banner Free you can place the logo to the banner code in template html.txt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shining wrote:
I figured it out and found the right path, but I still have one more question.

I don't understand the explanation of the exchange ratio. I'd like it to be set up for 1:1 ratio.

Does that mean I just put 1 in the box, or do I put 100 because it says:

"How many impressions get every user for showing 100 banners"


See, this person found the correct path, so why doesn't a support person please advise me how to find the correct path myself instead of asking for FTP password etc?

Clearly, I'm not the only one having the above problem and error messages on install, so why are there no posts or documentation to help people solve the problem?
Back to top
PHPWebScripts
Richard - Admin


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 6244

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is not an easy way to find out the path, I'm not able to say a general advice. Ask server admin for it, it's the easiest way for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the exact same problem, only my host assures me that this is the correct path. They say:

"/dh/cgi-system/php.cgi" is the real PHP CGI binary, we don't have any other PHP CGI binaries installed on our service (other than
"/dh/cgi-system/php5.cgi", which is the CGI binary for PHP 5). It sounds
like you are actually mis-configuring your banner script, you might want
to contact the developers of the script and find out what you may be
getting wrong. I say this because you should never try and install your
PHP script in any directories other than your web directory.


Now I am thoroughly confused. Can you shed some light on this, please?
Back to top
PHPWebScripts
Richard - Admin


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 6244

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The path is incorrect. It's the path of your php5.cgi file but not the path of the folder where you uploaded the files. Please email me, I will find the correct path for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The server people said:

The correct absolute path to mydomain.com/exchange (I am keeping it in a folder called "exchange") is:
/home/myname/mydomain.com/exchange. I believe the script is
probably using SCRIPT_FILENAME to locate the path, which won't work with
us as we run php as a cgi and SCRIPT_FILENAME will just return the
location of our php.cgi file.


End of email.

Is this true?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PHP Web Scripts Forum Index -> Support & Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group