PHP WEB SCRIPTS    Support Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How do members complete their banner ad???

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PHP Web Scripts Forum Index -> Easy Banner Pro Support & Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
imad79



Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 10:11 am    Post subject: How do members complete their banner ad??? Reply with quote

So for an ad to be complete users have to upload the banner and save it on the server first, then they have to enter the URL link of this banner then click save again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Is this how it's done? I hope not!!!!

Can't this be only a two step process? I mean upload and activate only?


Thanks
_________________
Imad Atallah
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PHPWebScripts
Richard - Admin


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 5900

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In configuration is the option to choose if they should store banners on their servers (it's the option which you described) or upload banners to your server. When this is selected, it shows a browse button in the ad edit form in users area and users can upload banners from their computers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
imad79



Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, thank for your reply.

You didn't answer my question mate!

I want banners to be stored on my servers because this will give me more control on the banners. But completing the ad process is very confusing for users.

I don't understand why users have to enter the URL of their banner after they upload it to my server. This should be done automatically.

I want users to be able to complete ads in just two steps:

1- Upload the banner
2- Activate banner

I don't want users to enter the URL after uploading their banner. This is very confusing and most of the people won't guess that they have to do this. It's a good idea to replace the enter URL step with the activate banner button.

Is this possible? I won't mind paying for a customized module.

Thanks
_________________
Imad Atallah
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PHPWebScripts
Richard - Admin


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 5900

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you selected to store banners on your server, there is avalable an upload field and button in the banner edit form. They don't have to upload anything to their servers and then enter banner URL. They can use the form in your users area to upload banners directly from their computers to your server. It works exactly as you need it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
imad79



Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 4:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you are missing the point mate!!!

I have selected the store banner in my server and I know that there is an upload field and button. But this is not the question!!!

My question is: Why user have to enter the URL of the banner after uploading it??? Why Can't the system fill in the URL field automatically and also make the ad complete so it will appear in the admin section for approval?

Thanks[/img]
_________________
Imad Atallah
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PHPWebScripts
Richard - Admin


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 5900

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The URL field is there so they can enter URL of the page which it should open when someone clicks to the banner. This field should not be used to enter banner URL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
imad79



Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oops my bad!!! Embarassed Sorry mate..

Ok, how can I make the URL field a required field.

Thanks for you fast replies.
_________________
Imad Atallah
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PHPWebScripts
Richard - Admin


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 5900

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

They can keep it empty but such banner can't be activated. It's useful when they uploaded a banner and want to enter the URL enter. Only ads which have banner available as well as a value in the URL field can be activated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
imad79



Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I want the URL field to be a required field not optional. I don't want users to have an option to leave the URL field empty. I want the same as the attached image from love-sites.net. How can this be done?
http://www.arabhitz.com/Untitled.jpg
_________________
Imad Atallah
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PHPWebScripts
Richard - Admin


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 5900

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The field is required, not optional. They can't create an ad without it. They however can decide to enter it later. If you want to add there a javascript function which checks if there is a value, you can add it to the template or I can do it for you if you are not familiar with javascript.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
imad79



Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes please do it. I am not familiar with javascript.

Thanks for your awesome support and scripts.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PHPWebScripts
Richard - Admin


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 5900

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please email me and send me your current templates shared_ad_edit_part_upload_banner.txt and shared_ad_edit.html.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
imad79



Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just sent you an email.

Thank you very much.
_________________
Imad Atallah
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PHP Web Scripts Forum Index -> Easy Banner Pro Support & Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group